Vimeo or YouTube to replace the MobileMe gallery?

Less than a week left in my quest to find alternatives to MobileMe that cost less than Apple’s £59 annual fee. I have quite a few home movies on my web gallery and will need a new home for them. The obvious choice is YouTube. It’s free, you can upload directly from iMovie ’08 and virtually everyone’s aware of it (maybe even my computer-phobic in-laws!).

I love YouTube. You can find just about anything there. My husband and I watched Obama and McCain’s speeches on it on our Apple TV last night. I’ve watched videos on swimming technique. My husband watches rugby highlights and archery technique videos. The children like that baby that laughs and OK Go on the treadmills.

But I also have a concern regarding YouTube – the less than savoury content that appears. I always feel I have to be very careful if I’m looking for something while the children are in the room. Too often the comments people have added or the recommended videos aren’t suitable for little eyes.

So I thought I’d take a look at Vimeo. I have watched a number of videos on it over the last few months and I’ve been impressed with the simplicity of the interface. YouTube is a mess in comparison. You can also upload HD video. Not that I have an HD camcorder, but I might one day. Vimeo also has a friendlier feel than YouTube – the comments are more sensible. There’s more of a community feel.

I spent most of this morning uploading the same home movies to YouTube and Vimeo to see how they compared. It’s easier to get movies into YouTube as it can be done from within iMovie. Not that Vimeo was difficult. I already have all my videos shared with iTunes so looked for the medium size version in Movies>iMovie Sharing>iTunes via the Vimeo uploader. There’s a huge difference between the two when it comes to watching videos. The quality on YouTube is awful, even when viewed at higher quality. The quality on Vimeo is much the same as on iTunes and MobileMe.

So this has been a quick and easy decision. It’s Vimeo for me. I can upload up to 500MB a month for free. (There’s a pro account for $60 a year should I need more but I doubt I will – unless I go HD in the future.) It’s easy to use and looks good. An excellent replacement for MobileMe.

If you fancy a look at the movies I’ve uploaded so far, they’re here.

3 Responses to “Vimeo or YouTube to replace the MobileMe gallery?”

  1. Pierre F. Walter Says:

    You may want to check out Blip.tv. I myself have sites on Youtube, Vimeo and Blip.tv, but Vimeo is very slow in playback, the community is very inactive, mostly artists, rarely doing comments. But your observation is correct, the style is totally different, they are mostly art and film professionals, they are not doing the kinds of comments as on Youtube. But Blip.tv also is an interesting community, there also are many profs, they are show and entertainment people. And the technology is superb, you can export your videos directly with a click as iTunes podcasts and many other features. The design is nice and neutral with lots of grey, the playback speed is excellent. Check it out!
    Pierre

    http://youtube.com/ipublica

    http://vimeo.com/pierrefwalter

    http://pierrefwalter.blip.tv

  2. Rachel Murphy Says:

    @Pierre: Thanks for your comments. Blip.tv looks like it would be good for finding videos to watch, in the same way as YouTube I suppose. I prefer the feel of Vimeo for sharing home movies with friends and family though.

  3. Pierre F. Walter Says:

    No, when I watch videos, it’s on Youtube. But Bleep.tv has really good features for producers. For example you can even customize the player and brand it with your own logo, see it here:

    http://ipublica.com/Live_Your_Love/

    Bottom right, see here ‘ipublica.tv’ instead of ‘blip.tv’. In addition, the publishing features include RSS feeds automatically written by the system and automatic posting of Podcasts to iTunes. But I agree that Vimeo has the best comments function, as you can always edit and delete your comments, which the others do not offer, and the Vimeo groups are very nice, here is mine:

    http://vimeo.com/groups/publicsanity

    Another great Blip.tv feature is that you can always watch your videos in their original format, prior to conversion to Flash, which is clearly a big advantage because when you produce like myself in Quicktime, all conversions to Flash incur a loss of quality, and of sharpness. The worst here is Youtube as they really massacre your videos, both in terms of picture and sound, they have a bad algorithm optimized only on speed of performance, not for quality. They should give options.

    Let me also add that support is fastest with Blip.tv, slow with Vimeo and non-existent with Youtube. If you ever are insulted by users on Youtube, even outrageously, and submit an abuse mail to Goggle, you can wait your lifetime to get a reply. They really don’t care.

    What I find murky on Vimeo is the size of the videos, it’s way below original size, only when you use Fullscreen view, you can view videos in their original size.

    Finally, if you live overseas, like myself, Vimeo definitely is very slow, as their backbone connections might not be as good as the ones of the other providers. I believe it’s the smallest community also.
    Best,
    Pierre


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

