Which email for my iPhone?

What’s the best type of email for using with an iPhone? For me it has to be IMAP so I can sync it with my Mac easily. My usual email set up is a POP3 Yahoo account (with BT Internet) that forwards mail to my IMAP .Mac account.

Things had been working well until last week when I noticed some emails weren’t coming through. I had registered with a couple of websites and never received the promised welcome emails. I suspect they were (incorrectly) categorised as spam. I fiddled around with some settings, turned off the spam filters and stopped Yahoo forwarding to .Mac and had the emails resent. Everything worked fine if they were sent to either Yahoo or .Mac but not when forwarded. I don’t know whether the fault lies with BT or Apple. But either way, I have lost confidence in my email setup. So I considered alternatives.

I could start afresh with a completely new email account. I like using Apple Mail, on my Mac and iPhone. So webmail is out. If I want IMAP the only real alternative as I see it is Google Mail. But I’m going through a bit of an anti-Google phase. I’m not keen on the amount of information that Google is able to collect about you. It’s scary. So for me, Google Mail would be a last resort.

My best option is to stick with my current email providers but change my set up. I clearly can’t trust forwarding from Yahoo to .Mac. If I am registering for anything online that might generate email that could be mistaken for spam, I’ll use my .Mac address. I’ve set up an alias specifically for this purpose. If this email starts to generate real spam I can just trash it as it won’t have been used for anything important. (I should have had an entirely separate email for such purposes anyway, really.) Hopefully this system will work.

Leave a Reply

