Why isn’t the Getting Things Done audiobook available in the UK?

Once I’d finished reading Getting Things Done I decided it would also be nice to have the audiobook too. I thought the abridged version would be useful to listen to now and again. I’d recently signed up to audible so that seemed the logical place to go. Except they don’t have it.

You can download it from audible.com for $12.60 if you’re in America. But if you try and download it from the UK you’re shifted over to audible.co.uk where it’s not available. The CD version is available from amazon.com for $16.50. Amazon in the UK doesn’t sell it. amazon.com will ship to Britain but the delivery charge is $6.48 bringing the total up to an eviqualent of £11.44.

I thought surely someone on eBay is selling the GTD CD. Amazingly I couldn’t find anyone in Britain selling it. There were a few US sellers, the cheapest being at $15 with postage on top.

Of course, the CD can be ordered direct from David Allen’s website – for a price. It’s $37 (£18.82) including shipping.

I did some Google searches and I’m not the only one having this problem. A British GTD-type company mentions the problems on their website. Finally, in an old post on David Allen’s blog I found a suggestion to try abebooks.co.uk. Bingo! I got the Getting Things Done abridged CD for £9.86. (Although looking today I see the cheapest is £19.93. There’s obviously a lot of variation in availablity and sellers.)

The question is, why on earth don’t the British publishers of Getting Things Done have it available on audible.co.uk? They’re missing out on a lot of sales – I bet there are loads of you out there who would download it if it was easily accessible.

One Response to “Why isn’t the Getting Things Done audiobook available in the UK?”

  1. My Get Things Done List » Blog Archive » GTD Digest 2007-02-24 [Stuff for Getting Things Done] Says:

    […] Why isn’t the Getting Things Done audiobook available in the UK? By Rachel Murphy Finally, in an old post on David Allen’s blog I found a suggestion to try abebooks.co.uk. Bingo! I got the Getting Things Done abridged CD for £9.86. (Although looking today I see the cheapest is £19.93. There’s obviously a lot of … […]


Leave a Reply

