My household cleaning routines: Part 4 – Wednesday

The morning routine is the same as before.

  1. Read emails, check blog stats and read RSS feeds while it’s quiet before anyone else is up
  2. Unload the dishwasher (and reload with the breakfast stuff)
  3. Quickly wipe the toilets and sinks
  4. Put a load in the washing machine
  5. Wipe the kitchen worktop and table
  6. Check the calendar and my to-dos in Things for the day
  7. Check my list of meals for the week (to see if I need to take anything out the freezer or buy something later)

I don’t work on a Wednesday so I usually try and do as much of my afternoon routine in the morning if I can. Then I’ll have the afternoon free.

  1. Hang out the washing on the line or put it in the tumble dryer, depending on the weather
  2. 15 minutes decluttering/tidying in “deep clean area” for the week, i.e. for this week the children’s bedrooms, their bathroom and the downstairs toilet
  3. Monthly deep-cleaning jobs: thoroughly clean the sinks and bath
  4. Get the dried washing and do 15 minutes ironing
  5. Process my in-basket (GTD style)
  6. Make dinner

Finally, the before-bed routine. Every day it is the same:

  1. Put the dishwasher on
  2. Wipe down the kitchen worktops/hob
  3. Check what’s for dinner tomorrow in case I need to take something out the freezer to defrost overnight in the fridge
  4. Check the calendar for tomorrow
  5. Decide what to wear tomorrow
  6. Clear the “hotspots”

Also:

Leave a Reply

