The Dilemma of Recipe Storage on the Mac: Evernote, Yojimbo or SousChef

Who’d have thought it? I’ve actually written another blog post. It’s over on Tumblr.

Posted in mac, review. 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “The Dilemma of Recipe Storage on the Mac: Evernote, Yojimbo or SousChef”

  1. Ben Lachman Says:

    Hi, just ran across your post. I think you bring up good points about SousChef’s current search issues. However, I can also say that these should be resolved in the near future. I’m the lead dev on SousChef and we’ve just finish an upgrade to our backend that handles a much more general search paradigm and adds recipe tagging. Our new iPad app works with this new backend and the Mac version of SousChef will in the near future. Hope this bring SousChef back into the running for you!

  2. Helen Says:

    I hear you on the long tag list in evernote … I generally just use “tags:mytag” in the searchbox but for that you have to remember the tag.

    We’re still using paper copies of recipes in the kitchen but putting a copy on evernote too. The kitchen is too small to prop up a laptop.

  3. Mark Says:

    Have you tried Mariner Software’s MacGourmet? I don’t use recipe software so I can’t offer an opinion on it. However when it comes to Evernote, I say dump it. I used Evernote when it was a real application. Once they went SAS (software as service) I dumped them. Their UA is egregiously overbearing; you lose control of your data. Sorry but that is totally out of line. Beyond that, it’s security is less than impressive.

    • Rachel Murphy Says:

      I tried MacGourmet a few years ago but couldn’t get on with it. I can’t remember exactly why now – I think I just found it a bit awkward to use.

      I have a number of issues with Evernote but I still find it useful (for notes where I need access at both work and home). It’s certainly not up to the job of storing recipes though, especially now I have an iPad. It just doesn’t seem to render web archives propely.


Leave a Reply

